Next Level Merchandise Planning

As the retail industry moves toward omnichannel platforms with increasingly sophisticated product lines, retailers need to rethink and evolve their sales and merchandise planning processes. The goal of efficient retail merchandise planning using corporate performance management and business intelligence tools is to improve the profitability of the company through an optimized planning process. Effective planning can optimize sales potential and reduce inventory challenges, leading to improved margins. Using a business intelligence and performance management solution makes it possible to consider all relevant data in the required granularity. This data-driven planning approach should always be based on a clearly defined planning strategy in order to achieve the best results.

 Webinar: Improving Stock Management – WSSI and OTB

Watch the recording on our Youtube channel.

Icon BI blue

Strategic planning

  • Planning key factors and investments
  • Uniform starting point for the entire planning process
  • Testing scenarios
  • Commenting features

Merchandise financial planning

  • Range planning
  • Sales and margin planning at product group level
  • Billing and discount planning
  • Target inventory planning
  • Open to buy
  • Initiative planning and tracking

assortment planning

  • Category management
  • Store clustering
  • Capacity planning
  • Delivery planning
  • Assortment planning according to shops
Icon Anforderungen blue

In-Season management

  • Forecasting
  • Sales reporting
  • Markdown management
  • In-season open to buy
Icon Report blue

Reporting und dashboarding

  • Plan coverage
  • Management cockpits and dashboards
  • Briefing books
  • Visualization of deviations

Data integration and feeder systems

  • SAP for retail
  • TXT
  • Postgress
  • Exasol DWH
  • Microsoft Dynamics AX
  • Alexa ERP
  • Godesys
  • Various PLM systems and other data sources

360-degree planning solution from bdg – from strategic planning to merchandise financial planning and assortment planning to in-season planning

The starting point is the strategic corporate planning. At the top level, Merchandise Planning begins planning the key factors and investments that drive business success. The goal of bdg-implemented business intelligence-based planning is to examine future growth opportunities from every angle – by product group, brand or channel, individually or in any combination. Retailers can test aggregate-level assumptions that can be automatically distributed to more detailed levels using intelligent calculation engines.

Key to profitable planning is the close networking of financial planning (Merchandise Financial Planning) with assortment planning based on strategic planning. The financial framework is set by Merchandise Financial Planning, which is filled with content at the level of assortment planning. The clear definition of interfaces is critical to such a planning process so that the top-down planning of financial goals can be compared with the bottom-up planning of assortment targets. This networking needs to be clarified at which level the transition from financial planning to assortment planning takes place.

The planning by product groups has proven to be useful since constant demand patterns can be derived at this level. Nevertheless, this decision is individual for each company, so that the respective business needs are taken into account.

One approach may be the clustering of homogenous groups, so as not to inflate the planning unnecessarily. Business Intelligence supports this by making aggregations effortless, as well as drilling down to the last level of detail.

Merchandise planning proves to be particularly dynamic, which is why adjustments during a season are essential. Matching the actual performance with the projected performance makes it possible to intervene quickly when needed and to make corrective adjustments to increase sales.

The use of a business intelligence solution optimizes work processes for retailers radically. Instead of wasting valuable time gathering relevant information from disparate systems and databases, a BI application provides all relevant key performance indicators from sales, margins, inventories, to open-to-buy at a glance. In this way, problems can be quickly detected and the appropriate action taken.

The advantages of BI in retail

null

Integration of all systems in one BI application for a holistic overview

null

Process optimization through the elimination of lengthy data collection and aggregation

null

Use historical data for effective planning

null

Test scenarios for the development of optimal strategies

How can we support you?

Whether you want to introduce a Business Intelligence solution in your company or want to extend an existing application, bdg is your partner.

Contact us to start a new project

Contact us for extending an existing BI-system

References

Business Intelligence für Zalando
Business Intelligence für Sainsbury's
Business Intelligence für N Brown Group Plc

Next Level Merchandise Planning

Durch den Wandel der Retail Branche hin zu Omnichannel-Plattformen mit immer anspruchsvolleren Sortimenten müssen Retailer ihre Vertriebs- und Merchandise-Planning-Prozesse überdenken und weiterentwickeln. Ziel einer effizienten Retail Merchandise Planung ist es, die Rentabilität des Unternehmens durch einen optimierten Planungsprozess zu verbessern. Mit einer effektiven Planung lassen sich Verkaufspotentiale optimieren und Bestandsherausforderungen verringern, um die Marge zu verbessern. Beim Einsatz einer Business-Intelligence-Lösung wird es möglich, alle für die Planung relevanten Daten in der benötigten Granularität in Betracht zu ziehen. Dieser datengetriebenen Planung sollte eine klar definierte Planungsstrategie zugrunde liegen.

Strategische Planung

  • Planung von Schlüsselfaktoren und Investitionen
  • Einheitlicher Ausgangspunkt für die gesamte Planung
  • Testen von Szenarien
  • Kommentierungsfunktionen

Merchandise Financial Planning

  • Produktgruppen-Planung
  • Sales und Margen Planung auf Produktgruppen-Ebene
  • Abschlags- und Discount Planung
  • Zielbestandsplanung
  • Open to Buy
  • Maßnahmenplanung und Tracking

Assortment Planning

  • Category Management
  • Store Clustering
  • Kapazitätenplanung
  • Anlieferkurven Planung
  • Sortimentsplanung nach Shops

In-Season Management

  • Forecasting
  • Sales Reporting
  • Markdown Management
  • In-Season Open to Buy

Reporting und Dashboarding

  • Planberichterstattung
  • Management Cockpits und Dashboards
  • Berichtsmappen
  • Visualisierung von Abweichungen

Datenintegration und Vorsysteme

  • SAP for Retail
  • TXT
  • Postgress
  • Exasol DWH
  • Microsoft Dynamics AX
  • Alexa ERP
  • Godesys
  • Diverse PLM-Systeme sowie andere Datenquellen

360 Grad Planungslösung der bdg – von der Strategischen Planung über Merchandise Financial Planning und Assortment Planning zur In-Season Planung

Ausgangspunkt ist die strategische Unternehmensplanung. Auf oberster Ebene beginnt das Merchandise Planning mit der Planung der Schlüsselfaktoren und Investitionen, die den Unternehmenserfolg bestimmen. Ziel einer durch bdg implementierten Business Intelligence gestützten Planung ist es, zukünftige Wachstumsmöglichkeiten aus jedem Blickwinkel, nach Warengruppen, Marken oder Kanälen einzeln oder in beliebigen Kombinationen zu betrachten. Retailer können Annahmen auf aggregierter Ebene testen, die mittels intelligenter Berechnungsmodule automatisch auf die granulareren Ebenen verteilt werden können.

Zentral für eine gewinnbringende Planung ist die enge Vernetzung der finanziellen Planung (Merchandise Financial Planning) mit der Sortimentsplanung (Assortment Planning) auf Basis der Vorgaben durch die Strategische Planung. Den finanziellen Rahmen setzt das Merchandise Financial Planning, welches auf der Ebene des Assortment Plannings mit Inhalten gefüllt wird. Entscheidend für einen solchen Planungsprozess ist die klare Definition von Schnittstellen, damit die top-down Planung von finanziellen Zielen mit der bottom-up Planung von Sortimentszielen abgeglichen werden kann. Für diese Vernetzung muss geklärt werden, auf welcher Ebene der Übergang von der finanziellen Planung in die Sortimentsplanung erfolgt.

Bewährt hat sich das Planen nach Warengruppen, da sich auf dieser Ebene konstante Nachfragemuster ableiten lassen. Dennoch ist diese Entscheidung für jedes Unternehmen individuell, damit den jeweiligen Business Needs Rechnung getragen wird.

Ein Ansatz kann auch die Clusterung nach möglichst homogenen Gruppen sein, um die Planung nicht unnötig aufzublähen. Business Intelligence unterstützt dabei, indem Aggregationen mühelos möglich sind, ebenso wie ein Drill-Down bis ins letzte Detail-Level.

Die Warenplanung erweist sich als besonders dynamisch, weshalb Anpassungen während einer laufenden Saison essentiell sind. Der Abgleich der tatsächlichen Performance mit der prognostizierten Performance ermöglicht es, bei Bedarf schnell einzugreifen und korrigierende Anpassungen zur Umsatzsteigerung vorzunehmen.

Die Nutzung einer Business-Intelligence-Lösung optimiert die Arbeitsprozesse für Retailer radikal. Statt wertvolle Zeit beim Zusammentragen relevanter Informationen aus unterschiedlichen Systemen und Datenbanken zu verlieren, bietet eine BI-Applikation alle relevanten Kennzahlen von Sales, Margen, Lagerbeständen bis Open-to-Buy auf einen Blick. Probleme können auf diese Weise zeitnah erkannt werden, um entsprechende Maßnahmen zum Gegensteuern zu definieren.

Die Vorteile von BI im Bereich Retail

null

Integration aller Systeme in einer BI-Applikation für einen ganzheitlichen Überblick

null

Prozessoptimierung durch den Wegfall langwieriger Datensammlung und Aggregation

null

Nutzung historischer Daten für eine effektive Planung

null

Erproben von Szenarien für die Entwicklung optimaler Strategien

Wobei können wir Sie unterstützen?

Ob Sie in Ihrem Unternehmen eine Business-Intelligence-Lösung einführen wollen, oder eine bestehende Applikation erweitern möchten, bdg ist Ihr Ansprechpartner.

Neues Projekt konfigurieren

Bestehende BI-Lösung weiterentwickeln

Referenzen